December 30, 2011

Christmas Break

You know, I go into every break feeling like I have a whole world of opportunities awaiting me. I don't know exactly why I continue to delude myself. For example, this is me the day before break.
Ahh! I have two weeks off! Two blissful weeks of adventure! And endless productivity! Ah yes! And then, then I have the audacity-and we aren't talking about a music editing program-to make an actual, physical, tangible list of those great things I'm going to do.
Finish all my homework before the second week of break
Work out-get that stomach back in shape
Get up by eight each morning
Write at least three articles per day
Save the world
Tame a dinosaur
Their might have been some slight exaggeration there, but only very slight. Why? Why did I think I'd actually get up and do things? Silly me.
However, I hate blogs that are total downers. And isn't it awkward when people bash on themselves? I always feel so...intrusive. There we are, me sitting there, and the other person going on, ranting and raving about all those things which make them imperfect. I'm sitting there, eating my popcorn, taking a sip of Sprite (a real obnoxious sip too, letting you know that it's almost gone and I'm at the bottom of the cup. sluuuuurp), and finally I just feel like saying, "I'm real sorry to be here when you are obviously having a deep moment of reflection with yourself. I'll just go.". Except, of course, that would be considered rude, and probably socially inappropriate (especially the sprite part) so instead I feel obligated to say something lame like "No! Come on you're [great, talented, beautiful, skinny, nice, slightly obsessive, take your pick]." Just once, I'd like to be that jerk that says, "You're right. You know, I never really realized it until you said something but you, my friend, are a terrible person, and I don't think I can stand to be around you any longer!"
Does that make me an awful person?
Probably.
I also kinda feel bad for not doing that dialogue bit correctly. What would Mrs. Gessel say? And for saying kinda.
All grammatical and syntax issues aside, I really have digressed rather far from what I was trying to say.
What I was TRYING to say was precisely thus: I shouldn't bash on myself. I did accomplish some things this break. For example:
  • Had a "stuffy" party with my cousin Elora
  • Watched Season 9 of Smallville with my brothers...basically in the middle of the night...
  • Convinced my brother to go buy Season 10 of Smallville the next day
  • Written MORE than 3 articles TOTAL
  • Done crunches about 5 times this break (5 days people, not 5 individual crunches)
  • Hung out with my brothers, playing Qwirkle and Carcassonne
  • Been dominated by my brother who does NOT dance at....Just Dance

Which leads me to believe that while goals are important, and so is using our time wisely, there is one thing which really is more important; family.

Plus, now I have one more thing to add to my list of things accomplished. I successfully used a semicolon.