June 24, 2014

I'm Not a Robot. Really. Also pictures.

Once I wanted to write a comment on my friends blog. She was far away in Fiji and I wanted to say some words in response to her blog. Not an especially strange event. And then I was told, before I could post it, Please prove you're not a robot. Me? Me please prove I'm not a robot? How about you. How about you prove that?

OH WAIT!!

YOU ARE A ROBOT BECAUSE YOU ARE THE COMPUTER!!

At least more robot than me.

So that's weird.

How many robots actually try to post comments on personal blog posts? Is there a job somewhere that a person designs robots who are programmed to comment on random people's blog posts, and now that person is thwarted because their robots cannot prove, indeed, that they are not robots.

This is just something I don't understand.

Also the wiggle song by Jason Derulo. What. The. Possum Jason Derulo?! Where were you that you thought this song was okay?!

I first heard the melodic strains of the Wiggle song in the car with my brothers and at the time fiance and we weren't really paying attention to it when the words, "Whatcha gonna do with that big fat butt? Wiggle wiggle wiggle." sounded.

And we changed the station.

And I thought to myself, it cannot be that anyone actually likes this song. But apparently it is popular because it keeps popping up more and more.

Which leads me to another thought on this same topic - what kind of woman subjects herself to being the subject of such a song. There's a music video for this song. What kind of woman dances in such a video?

YOU ARE BEING COMPLETELY OBJECTIFIED BY THE SIZE OF YOUR BOOTY, HON!

People with a beef about feminism should start here. I agree that women should not be shoved under the radar, trampled upon, or treated as less than men. But could we start here? Could we begin with the popular music that says we should shake it like a polaroid picture to please a man who doesn't otherwise know us?

Sorry to take that in an actually serious direction in what has mostly been a nonsense post. But really. At least Beyonce - who, let's be real, shakes it a fair amount - takes some steps to empower women. She sings about Pretty hurting and how we should be treated as people not just "pretty objects". Not trying to make a huge overwraught statement with that.

Switching gears though, so I can post some of the pictures from the wedding.

I don't have all the official pictures yet, but in a recent post I made reference to my toast (given by Kevin, who for his credit, as of Sunday had never even heard the Wiggle song so way to rock) and here is me with the toast:

This was taken at the wedding luncheon, as well as this awfully fierce piece featuring me and best lad Sean.

For anyone wondering, yes, he is wearing the centerpiece from the table, and I'm not wearing my shoes because those stinkers gave me blisters.

Before we throw the wedding shoes under the proverbial bus, it should be acknowledged that I super procrastinated on trying to break them in. It wasn't until the Tuesday before the wedding that I finally realized if I didn't get on that right then, then those shoes were going to be utter misery. So I put them on while I watched "What to Expect While You're Expecting" on Netflix with Reilly. Naturally I did this while also wearing wool socks and used a blow dryer to loosen them as well. 

So as it was they were only slight misery instead of utter misery. But misery nonetheless.

The last picture I will post for today's post is from my daddy daughter dance. My dad is the best dad of all dads. You can feel free to disagree but not to the point of saying anything to me about it because he's MY best dad.



June 16, 2014

Goals

Sometimes I like to make goals.

Goals like write 500 words (AT LEAST) on your novel Monday-Friday until that stinker of a first draft is DONE.

Goals like this I have to post on facebook or else I won't actually do it. (See 30 day writing challenge, failed attempt 1 and massively failed attempt 2).

Other goals are things like never still be in your pajama pants when your husband gets home from work at 4:00.

This one can be difficult, admittedly, but even if that means I put my real pants on at 3:50 (I'm not saying it happened, but I'm not saying it didn't), then I'm still the winner here.

And yes, obviously this goal will have exceptions if I become ill.

But illness doesn't excuse me from writing, even if it makes my characters crazy. Which it assuredly will.

Then there's the token goal named exercise. I'm really good at this when, you know, I'm in hours and hours of dance class every week that I'm graded on so I go. But it's a little harder during the summer. But it's a goal nonetheless.

And if sometimes walking to the mailbox with a thick handful of thank you notes to send out counts as exercise? Fine. I'll get that gym membership eventually.

There's also the goal named make the bed everyday. We bought the bedspread at Target with our gift card money so we could have a real looking bedroom and I could do the responsible adult/wife thing and make the bed.

I had to add the "/wife" there, because certainly as an "adult" (meaning 18+) I haven't been too bothered to make my bed the past few years.

But it's been made, oh boy has it been made, since I've gotten married. Something about Trenton being gone at work and me just being home and reading makes me feel like the least I can do is make the bed, since I've been sleeping for two hours after he left for work.

Goals are good. They help us measure our progress, and so they have to be good. I bet you have goals. I bet you're really good at keeping your goals.

And if you're not? That's chill. You can do better, or not, or make new goals, or realize some goals are stupid silly and throw them away. Those are the lofty goals like "I'm going to run a marathon this year" and then realize that you hate running and never run. So maybe you should amend the goal, and start off with "run once a week". And that's still something to be proud of.

What's the conclusion of this post? The takeaway message? The excuse I will make to leave/the food I'm going to go eat? I guess there really isn't one (even though I do still have some wedding cake in the fridge and it is delicious). Just that here are some of my goals, and hopefully I will do well and will go on to make and achieve bigger goals.

I can do it. Eventually. :)

Post Marriage Ramblings

It's been a whole two weeks of marriage now, plus a couple days. We made it past that critical mark, and I'm happy to report we're still pretty fond of each other. :)

I will post some pictures and memories from the various fun things on the honeymoon soon (probably) but for now I just kind of need a little rambling.

You see, Trenton, wonderful man that he is, goes off to work everyday so that we can still afford to live in this lovely little apartment (which the longer we live in the more I add to my mental list of things to look for next time we go apartment hunting. For example, there is a big difference between space, counter space, and storage space. And also, how many bugs will be making their way in to visit by crawling under the not very tight to the ground front door.) and so we can eat (we are both EXTREMELY fond of eating). On the eating note, we made an extremely scrumptious meal last Thursday named Italian skillet and summery spinach salad. We took a picture, but unfortunately it's on Trenton's phone so it will just have to wait. Because Trenton takes the car to work (he often leaves at inappropriate hours like 7), I am left at home by myself all day.

I've read many books in the last week. It's kind of nice to be able to sleep in and then read in bed for a bit. But there's also a lot of washing dishes and scrubbing the walls and tidying up the blanket that covers our kind of ugly patterned but free and comfortable couch and, oh yes, writing and addressing thank you notes.

That's been the project of this morning, and the only reason I stopped was because I ran out of stamps, so I will continue tomorrow once more stamps have been obtained.

I'm trying to enjoy this time to myself. I've actually started working on my novel again (!!!!), and like I said I've gotten lots of reading in, plus doing lots of just helpful wife type things. I know that soon enough I will be off working and will be in school again and won't have time to just read for the fun of it. And even later on I will have kids and while I am excited beyond belief for that stage in life, I know it will be busy and nothing like the peaceful mornings I've been experiencing lately. So, while I'm grateful, I do miss having my husband home to talk to, or having friends here all the time.

I guess it just goes to show, that no matter what point in life we are at there's always something to appreciate. :) There we go, somewhat poetic or cliched closing thought so this can be wrapped up and I can finish off my leftover Chicken Alfredo.

(Have you noticed that I often end these posts so I can eat? Not a bad trend.)

June 10, 2014

MARRIAGE!!!

Sometimes when I have SOOOO much to blog about it is really tempting to not blog at all. I think that I can't possibly do justice to all the events that I've missed writing about so far, so I might as well not even start.
Well that attitude is LAZY AND FALSE so we are going to kick it straight to the curb and dump it in the dumpster out back with the oodles of appliance packaging and gift wrap that resulted from Trenton and I opening wedding presents Monday (and by the way, thank you all. It is kind of beautiful that anytime I look at anything in the apartment I am reminded of the generosity, kindness, and love of someone else for Trenton and I. The world is a beautiful place, even if there are a few problems here.)
So here's my attempt to at least begin talking about the wedding day. I will do another post later, hopefully, about the honeymoon, because I can't squish all that happy goodness into one blog post.

Zoooooom. We just rewinded back in time to Saturday, May 31.
I woke up! YAY IT IS MY WEDDING DAY! I said in my head. And then I got up.

My friend Mallory who I danced with forever did my hair for the wedding, and she was a saint. She did a practice run earlier this month, as well as doing my hair for my bridals, and then met me at the salon early to do it for the wedding. Super champ. After my hair was done, we headed up to the temple. Being there was surreal, but so so happy. Sitting with Trenton before the sealing was great, but we were both a little eager - for a minute we thought they'd forgotten us, but we were just super on top of things and were there early.

Matt and Elaine, uncle and aunt extraordinaire, took notice of the exact time of our sealing for me, so I can happily report that we were married, legally and for forever, at 11:28 am on May 31, 2014.

Lots of our wedding pictures are still coming but I will post some that we already have here.



The three pictures together on top are the samples from our photographer, Rachel Johnson, who AGAIN was simply fantastic, and Trenton's sweet granny took the one below. 

Some highlights from the rest of the day were:
- Kevin's toast at the luncheon. 
  • He put an actual piece of toast in the toaster which is something I told my mom I wanted at my wedding a while back and she was like "please no" and then I told Kevin and he was like, "Oh, yes". My brothers were a little miffed that Kevin did it because I'd told them I wanted that done BUT I love them so so much and don't want them to be sad but am still glad Kevin actually did the toast.
  • When Kevin said, "Today I got to see my best friend marry his best friend" it hit me right in the feels and was beautiful.
-  Beyonce dance at the reception
  • So Katie (MoH) and I were watching Beyonce videos in our apartment one day the week before the wedding and we watched the Love on Top video. We had the idea that we should learn the dance. We progressed the idea, saying we should do it at the wedding reception.
  • This actually happened.
  • Because I was at my awesome younger brother's graduation at 4 on Friday when the bridesmaids had decided to rehearse our number, I didn't actually learn the bulk of the choreography, so during the middle of the dance I made Trenton come up and dance.
  • He was the best.
- Smashing the cake
  • A while back Trenton and I had a conversation about not smashing the cake on each other.
  • False. He put a little frosting on my nose. I may or may not have gotten cake all up on his forehead. 
  • Also that cake was gorgeous and really really delicious.
  • And that being said....I'm off for now. Time to eat some cake that's in my fridge. :)