Now what I'm about to write made me so mad that I didn't even say "WHAT?" like I normally would.
No, ma'am. And no sir. I don't discriminate by gender who reads this blog. And because that last sentence reminded me of She's the Man here's a clip about not discriminating based on gender. Watch or don't. I just thought maybe it would help you follow my train of thought better.
But getting back on topic. I am real riled up about something that happened to me last night. Actually, this morning.
At 4:40 in the AM to be precise.
Now, I'm sure everyone reading this (who hasn't already heard this story because I did rant a little about this to one or two friends today) is thinking "Breanna, you goose. You should have been SLEEPING at 4:40 AM."
I was, friends. I truly was. So asleep. So asnooze, like the Whos or whatever.
I was asleep, that is, until the phone rang. It didn't so much ring as make a terrible sound which is supposed to be "vibrating" but sounds like a jammed woodchopper is searching for my soul in order to devour it.
This terrible thought invaded my sleep, but as I do with just about any alarm or sleeping interruption I waited for it to stop or for Trenton to fix it so I could keep sleeping.
Then this conversation occurred:
The scene: Breanna and Trenton's bedroom. 4:40 AM.
Trenton: Breanna. Your phone is ringing.
Breanna: huh? *checks the phone. It is indeed ringing* What on earth? (the thought process here as I looked at a number I didn't recognize was "no one on earth would call in the middle of the night unless there was a dang good reason. If someone is in trouble, I want to know. So I answered the phone.)
Breanna: Hello?
Man with VERY strong accent with background noise of bustle and chatter: HELLO!
Breanna: *hangs up. is mad*
Phone: rings again and is same number
Breanna: Are you serious!? *answers phone again* Hello?
Same Man as before (not Trenton, silly, the other one): HELLO!
Breanna: It is the middle of the night. I'm not taking this call right now.
Man: *hangs up*
And then I couldn't sleep well for the remainder of my limited resting time. And I'm still so mad! I'm mad that he called twice and interrupted my sleep, but also hello lack of professionalism. He should have at least said, "Alright, sorry" or "My bad" or "bye".
I'm not pleased. I'll get over it. Life is still beautiful and wonderful and full of joy, and so many worse things in the world have happened. But this is the thing that made me frustrated. SO. If a man calls you in the middle of the night ESPECIALLY if this happens when you're already sick, please know that I am more than willing to commiserate and perhaps start a group to track down call centers and find people who call other people in the middle of the night and tell them to their face, "Your actions hurt my feelings. I hope you make better choices in the future."