October 27, 2014

Masquerade!

Last week was a beast of a week. That doesn't mean that everything happened was negative, or that I didn't have fun, but it just means that I became very exhausted. In folk dance we had the great opportunity to learn a new Haitian piece. It was a wonderful experience, but it meant long hours of dance and a very sore back,

However, after a long and tiring week, Trenton and I had the lovely experience of going to THE MASQUERADE! The story of the masquerade went like this.

Once upon a time, Trenton and Breanna got married. They had their reception at a lovely venue called Castle Park which they were very happy with. As a result, Castle Park had Breanna's email address. Oh boy, did they have it. And they emailed Breanna to tell her that they had a Halloween masquerade event coming back. When Breanna read that this dance was a dinner and dance party with unlimited Italian sodas, carriage rides, a dark maze (which was actually very very dark) and more she thought in her brain, "that sounds fun, even!" and forwarded the link to Trenton, probably with a caption that read something like, "doesn't this look fun, even?"

Much to her surprise, Trenton quickly emailed back. Not saying, "Kind of." or "maybe next year". He said, "Ok! Let's make a reservation!" because that's just the kind of husband he is.

And so, Saturday night we went. And what a time we had.

The adventure began with the preparations. There were clothes to obtain (done before Saturday, mind you), hair to do, and masks to don. I had dressed myself in the lovely purple gown I'd bought at Savers for a winter ball in 9th grade. It costed a grand total of $8, and I was pleased that it would again be of use. I had done my hair, painted my nails, and even hot glue gunned a new ribbon onto my mask. The reason the mask needed a new ribbon, for those of you wondering which is maybe one of you, is that I for sure cut the ribbon off during SPAC tour when I realized I had no ribbon in the apartment to use so that I could put in my own fake braid. So yep. New ribbon was put on. Trenton however, couldn't find his mask. Randomly he thought, "well maybe I left it in the suitcases your parents so kindly let us store at your house." I thought that idea was sort of a long shot, but my house was on the way so we stopped by. Spoiler: the mask was in the suitcase. It was The. Only. Thing. In the suitcase.

In front of my beautiful garage after getting the mask. We decided to take the pic because the lighting was good.
Then we arrived at Castle Park. The dinner was delicious and the Italian sodas were undoubtedly the best Italian sodas to ever have been acquainted with my taste buds. Upon completing our meal we set forth to engage in activities like the carriage ride, aforementioned dark maze which made me realize I'm still a little more afraid of the dark than I'd realized, playing Just Dance in the castle, having a dance party where we pretended we knew how to dance at dance parties in the ballroom, having fun with the photobooth and getting a much needed massage from some rather excellent though random massage chairs.

We also found some random things. For example, there were seven dessert stations all throughout the park. Most were pretty deluxe, but one was these hanging bags of cotton candy. The sign in front read, "Spiders eggs. Delicious and nutritious." Yum. Nutritious spider egg cotton candy. We didn't actually eat any but I liked Trenton's pose. Enjoy.



There was also this random scrap metal knight. So there we are. Randomly with the random scrap metal knight because that's just how we do.

Unfortunately, the last thing I want to post on here is the best thing of all but it isn't incredibly high quality. You see, I lack a personal scanner and therefore this final image is in fact a cell phone picture of a printed out picture from our photo booth experience. I plan to get it actually scanned someday, but in the meantime this photo is too good for all you fine folks to miss out on.


My husband, ladies and gentleman. And I honestly couldn't be happier with my choice. :)

October 15, 2014

Waking Up With Songs In My Head

Getting up is never easy for me, as I've stated before on this very blog. However, it's getting to that point of year that not only am I tired when I wake up, I'm very cold. This makes getting out of bed even harder. Yesterday I told me husband  he was mean even though my refusal to get up made him like half an hour late to work. That is silliness and I should not be quite so whiny. It seems like this shouldn't be such a big deal anymore. I've had to get up every single day my whole life. The drama behind this issue should really have faded with almost 21 years of practice. But I digress. I didn't come here today to tell you all what we all already knew - that getting out of bed in the morning, especially when its cold, is a slow and most unfortunate process.

I came here to tell you that for the past few days I have woken up with very random things in my head. For example, earlier this week I woke up with a Christmas poem my family reads every year in my head. I opened my eyes and all the sudden my brain's like, "I did want crackers, and I did want candy. I know a box of chocolates would come in handy. I do like oranges, and I do like nuts...I haven't got a pocket knife...not one that cuts! And oh Father Christmas, if you'd loved me at all, you'd have brought me a bright red India rubber ball." And then it stayed in my head FOR THE NEXT SEVERAL HOURS.

Me - sitting in Conditioning for Injury Prevention Class which for some unholy reason begins at 7 am: Wow. Dieting is bad for you and leads to eating - I DID WANT CRACKERS, AND I DID WANT CANDY.

Luckily, that was all just in my head. I didn't have a crazy manic outburst. Not that that's totally unrealistic with me, but whatever.

Both yesterday and this morning as I laid in bed and reluctantly opened my eyes the first coherent thought to pop up in my brain was "Iiiiiiiiiiiiii gotta make this riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight, make it the way it's supposed to be! That's my OCD!"

Here's a link to that song so you can all understand exactly how exciting this experience was.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tnzz-eFmKaw
Then, naturally, on my way to school I told Trenton that the OCD song was stuck in my head. So, being the psychology major that he is he decided to redo the song in a more accurate way. Something like "Iiiiiiiiiiii have an obsession with things being neat! And then I have a compulsion to fix them! It's a disorder!" That wasn't it exactly but it was pretty great.

Anyway. It's a strange experience I've been having lately but that's alright. Many worse things could happen.

October 7, 2014

Prayers Being Answered

I have a lot of other things I could and maybe should be doing right now. I could be making flashcards for Chapter 5 and 6 of the Patterson textbook for Poli Sci. I mean, its the least I can do since after the second week of school I decided reading the full text just wasn't going to happen and instead decided that making flashcards of all the bolded terms and taking the end of chapter 10 question quiz counted as studying the chapter. Or I could be writing an essay about Moses chapter 6 for my Pearl of Great Price class. This would be great, because honestly this has been the absolute without contention best religion class I have ever had. I leave class every day feeling spiritually bouyed and like hey maybe I can actually make it through this maelstrom that is mortality.

Lots of people have commented that my blog makes them smile. That makes me feel good. I've been told many times that I write the way I talk and that its amusing. I intend to keep doing this and hopefully a couple serious posts won't turn you all away from this blog. See, the reason the blog sounds like its me talking is because I just write what I want to say. If I'm in a silly mood, the writing comes out silly. That's just going to be what it is.

Lately I haven't been feeling quite so silly. I know some of you would beg to differ who have seen me in different classes where I seem really goofy or whatever. That isn't a false side of me or a facade. I laugh all the time, I love laughing, and I love being happy. Despite that, there have been a lot of moments in the past month or so where I have felt really really down. Typically when this happens during the school year I chalk it up to stress. However, largely thanks to my wonderful husband, I'm not really that stressed this year. I have been on top of my school work, gotten plenty of sleep, and found the time I need to complete various assignments.

I am beyond grateful for all the good things in my life. I am crazy blessed and I know it. There are still hard times though when I know I should feel happy and I don't. Sometimes it takes a lot of effort to pull myself together and not show the whole world how unsure of myself I feel.

The only answer I have to combat this is that I have the gospel. General Conference this past weekend was amazing. I felt the spirit more strongly than I have during any other conference, probably because I needed it more. I approached General Conference with a lot of questions and a lot of pleas for answers and I was hit over and over again with the assurance that I'm not alone.
The Gospel doesn't make everything easy, but it makes it easier. I hope you all know I love you. If I come across as distant one day or seem off it isn't because I'm mad at you. It could be because I'm deep in thought or struggling or maybe just tired. However, I hope you all know that you're not alone and that no matter what you are loved. Anyway, there are my thoughts. Going to make those flash cards now. :)

September 3, 2014

Why Life is Great...Despite the Unholy Wake up Time

Two things need to be almost tragically clear to start off this post.
1. I know that lots of people get up very early in the morning. Very early. Like in what I would actually consider "night".
2. (And this is the important one). No matter what else is true in this world, I am NOT a morning person.

Me and mornings have a long history. Not the long kind of history like we used to be in love and then broke up but still have to interact everyday. That's me and the bed, every single morning.

Long history like I've experienced a huge amount of mornings and they never stop coming. Don't get me wrong, I count my blessings that I get to wake up each day, blessed with the beauties of the world our magnificent Heavenly Father has created.

But if I could wait to do that until a little later, you wouldn't be hearing any complaints from me.

That said, with this semester's class and work schedule for me and the dear husband Trenton we are kicking off every single day at the time of 6 am. I almost wrote "bright and early", but guess what kids? It isn't bright at 6 am. Oh I know as well as anyone that school only started two days ago, meaning (not technically but for all intents of this post) summer was just three days ago.

It's already dark when I wake up!!! HOW AM I TO COPE WITH THE DECEMBER DAYS? Because cold and dark is a combination that whispers to me in the most seductive but not inappropriate of voices "just stay asleep".

However, despite the angst that permeates the early morning minutes as I drag myself out of bed, I am truly excited for this semester.

First off, my husband is great. Like, I know people overshare all the time and I don't want to do it, but I just need to say that Trenton is a saint and is kinder and more considerate than I could ever hope for. Also, side note, he isn't technically by Catholic definitions a saint. Just don't want people confused. (And also a quick shout out to his amazing parents who could not have raised a better or more Christ like son. Thank you. Love you.)

Second, I am a part of the folk dance back up team which is just such a fun and incredible opportunity. It was on last year's back up team that I fell in love with that aforementioned Trenton guy and met some of my very best friends to date. We had our first team rehearsal of the semester today and oh boy. I'm excited. More folk dance news will undoubtedly follow on this blog of mine.

Third, the church is so true everyone. We are so so so blessed. The knowledge that I have an all powerful, loving Savior means the world to me. He takes such good care of me, and being able to study what I love at BYU with a lens that allows me to worship at the same time is an almost un-quantifiable blessing.

Yes, I'm already crazy busy. Yes, I crashed and took a long nap after school today when I only intended to take a fifteen minute power nap.

But I also got to dance, read scriptures, hug my sweetie, learn new dances, run into my high school best friend TWICE, do the fourth charge with Rylan, eat a bunch of tootsie rolls while promoting folk dance (and people actually seemed interested!), spend time editing my book and feel the great feeling that is called every bit of homework that is assigned I have done so far.

So let's remember when I write negative posts in the future, that sometimes I take the time to remember how good life is. :)

August 27, 2014

Guys, But Maybe I am Technology Illiterate

For those of you who know me (which would be the vast majority of those reading this blog), you will probably know that I have quite a love for my pinterest account. All the food and geekiness and writing tips and cute clothes and workouts plus whatever else my heart could desire, right?

So one day, named today, I was laughing at pinterest posts which were comprised of tumblr posts. It isn't the first time that's happened.

I said to myself "tumblr looks kind of fun. You get to write snarky things on stuff."

I don't understand tumblr.

I tried, friends, I did. But how does this thing work?!

Literally, I looked up "how to use tumblr" and that didn't even help me. And so I gave up. I suppose all my snarkiness will have to be contained to the forms of social media I do understand. I was just excited about being able to do it with an air of anonymity.

Now that I've confessed this, I'd love to stay and chat but I should go start making some manicotti for dinner.

Yum.

August 21, 2014

A Pretty Boring Explanation About Starting to Edit. But hey, it's a post.

I know it's been a little while since I've posted and I apologize.
I am, however, happy to report that it hasn't been a long time since I've written. I kept my goal! I stuck to 500 words a day, Monday-Friday until on August 14 I completed the first draft of my novel. Since then I compiled it all back into one document (it had been split into separate narratives following different characters), and prepared myself for the revision process.

Editing is a beast.

When I first realized I had to revise my story I didn't want to. I felt a little bit toddler-ish, like if maybe I just ignored it, then it would go away and I wouldn't have to do that.
That would work, technically, so long as I didn't want anything more to happen with the story.

But guess what? I want this little baby to be published someday.

That is why last night Trenton and I went on a trip to Kinko's FedEx, which for some mysterious reason is open till 11 pm. We weren't there that late, but it is open that late. I guess that is good to know for those times that I need to print stuff out at 10:45 and don't have somewhere else to do it.

Anyway. Oh boy did we print. We printed the whole manuscript, because every single editing article I've read from authors has said something along  the lines of, "Don't you dare try and edit your work on the computer screen. Print that stinker, mark it up, and then you fix it in type." Not those words exactly, but that idea.

Well, I produced quite a stack of paper. The kind lady working there even had to come put more paper in because the printer ran out.
Her putting in new paper is what made her kind, by the way. That, and not judging my outfit and wet "I-showered-at-6:30-right-before-dinner-because-I-do-what-I-want" hair.

Then we had to hole punch all those many pieces of paper, and then we had to go find a binder to put them in, along with sticky notes, tabs, and red pens.

Armed with all the necessary equipment, I am happy to report that I spent an hour today tearing apart the first 20 pages of my novel.

I was worried I'd hate doing this, but it's actually kind of fun. Yeah, the part where I realize I wrote really stupid or ugly sentences is unfortunate. And its also a bummer to realize how many plotholes are hiding in just a few pages. But it's fun at the same time because I get to cut those stupid parts, and come up with solutions to the plotholes, and answer the questions that I didn't realize had no answers yet. And that's a little bit awesome.

July 22, 2014

Words About Words

If it wasn't abundantly clear by now I really love writing. To be fair, I really love a lot of things.

I really love sleeping. That's for dang sure. At least, in the morning I love sleeping. At night I love to stay up and watch all the movies and read all the books. 

I really love dancing. It kind of explains why I've spent a huge percentage of my life engaged in that activity and have endured foot surgery and gone back to dancing. 

I really love my family. That means my Trenton, and my parents and my siblings, and my sweet niece and my adorable sisters-in-law and all my in-laws in fact, and also my extended family. I have some pretty rocking relatives. 

I really love superheroes. Oh my gosh, all the feelings do I get. And sometimes that includes supervillains. Mostly just in the case of Loki. Oh British people - making such likable bad guys. Ew, but not always. Some are just vile. However, that discussion can be saved for a whole other blog post devoted entirely to such a wonderful debate with myself. 

I really love food. Making it, smelling it, looking at pictures of it, and even, yes, EATING IT.

And honestly this post is turning into one which should be called things I love. 

Or even things I real love. 

But this post is about WRITING I promise it to you. Sincerely and with great conviction. 

I've been spending a lot of time writing or at least thinking about writing lately. Even though my actual 500 words a day doesn't take all that much time per day, it does put stories into my mind and get me thinking all the time. I've also been reading a lot this summer (good thing Trenton is awesome at falling asleep with the light on because I've been having a hard time turning the light off and shutting those silly books). Reading, while not writing, makes me think more about writing. For definitely.

Well, my main focus for the majority of the summer writing-wise has been my novel. Probably followed by this blog. However, last Friday I decided I was going to update a story I started writing three years ago (yeah. Way back in High School.) 

The thing is, it's a piece of fanfiction. And to be completely honest, sometimes I feel a little ashamed of it. Why am I spending time playing with other people's characters (JK Rowling's, to be specific)? One of the main reasons is because it means I can be published NOW. Sure, not for pay, and only online, but it means I get people reading my stories.

Not just a couple people. Somehow, this silly Harry Potter fanfic I decided to write on a whim one day turned into kind of a big deal. Over 1,400 people get emailed every single time I add a single thing to that story. Another 410,000 from countries all over the world including obscure places like New Guyana and Kyrgyzstan have read it at some point. That's kind of, um, insane. I'm not trying to toot my own horn. I don't think it's that great. My brother thinks its "creepy", but it's gotten very popular.

I am extremely well aware that in comparison to the readership of many actual books, 417,860 reads isn't truly that many. But it's way more people than have read anything else I've written. Seeing how many people read it and comment on it in the first two days a new chapter goes up kind of gives me a writer's high. I want to write again and receive feedback again. 

I want my actual novel to be read and liked and for people to beg me to write more. I don't know if that will ever happen, but it's quite a lovely little dream. It's encouraging, at the very least, that there is a group of people who already boost my self confidence as a writer, not because they're my friend or my parent or my husband but because they legitimately like reading what I wrote.

Well what prompted me to actually write this post today, was because this morning I received an email from a group called Fandom for Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. Basically, they collect fanfiction type stories and then people who donate to the cause get the stories submitted by various authors. That's all great, and that's awesome that people are willing to write for a good cause. I was just so. Darn. Flattered. They specifically emailed me, because my silly, random story gained enough attention that they thought my entry would be a selling point to people online. 

I AM JUST A LITTLE GIRL WRITING DOWN WORDS BECAUSE IT'S FUN! But the idea that maybe something I wrote will help people with blood cancer makes me feel like I'm not wasting my time when I'm writing. I'm not being a tortured artiste (purposeful extra 'e' there) who is neglecting other parts of life in order to create. I'm just expressing ideas, and it seems like that makes quite a few people happy.

So Imma keep on keeping on.

Also, shout out to Rylan and Sean who actually read this blog and make me feel like I should keep writing it, and to Aunt Deb. :) Anti-shout out to my sweetest big brother who makes fun of the things I say here, but thanks for reading it anyway.



July 14, 2014

Stuck Up Writing Voice

I've had a few different friends tell me that I write this blog exactly how I talk.
I guess that just means I say "even" here a lot. And ramble. Boy oh boy am I a champion rambler. That poor Trenton guy who lives with me has an awful lot to put up with.

I see no reason why this blog wouldn't sound like me, since it is me, and since I'm just writing basically whatever comes to mind. Which is grand. But sometimes when I try and write, like ACTUALLY write, this weird thing happens.

The alien stuck up writing voice enters.

And it is. The worst thing.

It sounds like this snooty boring person, who can't decide whether they want to effectively tell you nothing or whether they want to shove all the details down your throat at once. Either way this meany person assumes you're going to be tested on it at the end so you better care about what they have to say.

Well I'm not sure exactly where this comes from, but I can assure you it isn't me. Luckily, by working on the novel every day (no, just Monday through Friday but it's not a bad start) a lot of the stuck up writing voice goes away. But sometimes I open up my beautiful word document and....BAM. Stuck up writing voice mode:Activated.

Sometimes when that happens I just power through. Heaven knows this babe of a story is going to need approximately 17 months of editing before it actually goes anywhere.

Other times I do something to get that writing voice out. Sometimes that means listening to music while I'm writing, which in general I don't recommend because the mood of the music - for me - tends to influence the mood of the story. Pace, too. Other times that means TIME TO BLOG.

Because this is how we feel about the stuck up writing voice:

Precisely. Like grumpy cat.

Ain't nobody need that. 

Now off to pick up Trenton from work.

Won't he be pleased when he gets home to find out I bought doughnuts after work.

July 8, 2014

Food and Other Joys in Life

Trenton and I were very loved and given many many appliances for to help with the cooking in our home. As such, our married life has been very full of food. Sure, there have been a couple nights that we haven't eaten super fine fare...pasta roni and frozen pizza still have their place in life. There is something to be said for cheap, easy food.

Here's what is to be said about it: it's cheap and easy.

But it's also fun to make more exciting meals. So here is a look at a few of the things we've made together.

If that doesn't seem too exciting then just keep scrolling for a bit my friends because there is something fun waiting later in this post. More fun than food, even!? What could I ever love more than food!!!

A fair and a valuable question, and one which will be answered. All in due course, little ones.


Once for Family Home Evening (we have super great FHE over here. It pretty much goes like a five minute discussion of a principle, read the scriptures, watch a movie or show.) we decided to make some marshmallow popcorn. We even used our air popper to do it! It was tasty and fun and exciting. You can tell how fun and excited Trenton is.


Another time, while Trenton was at work and before I started working (note: I started working!  Over a whole week ago. That, in part, is why I've been not doing so good at my posting on here. Being at work means less free time to write all the things. Then I get home and write my 500 words - the novel is coming along! It really is! I'm pretty thrilled! - and then I go pick up Trenton from work. No blog. Sad day.) I decided to make some banana bread. We had bought bananas but some of them had got mooshy and brown and so the obvious solution was to make banana bread. This particular bread even has chocolate chips in it.

One of the first meals we made together was an Italian skillet meal. It was delicious. If you want more information on it then you can ask, but I feel like there really isn't so much that needs to be said about a skillet meal. It was way yummy though. I apologize for the non-professional plating. There is totally sauce smeared on the plate. Alex Guarnaschelli from Chopped would hate me and think it was an egregious error.


This was tasty and I totally forgot we ate it like this until just barely! Carrie Johnson, Trenton's mom's best friend and an all around lovely individual, gave Trenton and I a cookbook with a recipe for French dip beef in the crockpot. This was our first use of the crock pot the lovely Sirie McCoy and her husband gave us, so it was like a double first use of presents. The beef turned out lovely, and we put it on PRETZEL ROLLS FROM COSTCO which are basically the best. The reason I ever even knew about pretzel rolls from Costco is because I had them in Georgia with my beautiful aunt Shauna and I thought to myself, "self, these pretzel rolls are made of yum". So, certainly, I went to the store named Costco with my mom who has a Costco card (I don't) and purchased Costco muffins and Pretzel rolls and bacon, and it was a happy day. Anyway, these sandwiches were good. Good and tasty. Yum.


Also, sometimes Trenton cooks eggs for me. In these eggs he put bacon and also some of the leftover beef from our French dip sandwiches which he seasoned with Chipotle to make smoky and divine. It is worth noting that the Chipotle came from Hot Licks in San Diego. Trenton bought it and I made him pose. 

Hot licks!! See, I told you it happened!!!

Anyway, we made delicious egg on tortilla bites. Like a breakfast burrito but I didn't call it that and I'm not sure we ate it for breakfast, I really don't remember. 

Now. I promise you something else was lurking down here. And here in fact, the something is. 

What could be better than food?! Or at least as wonderful to experience!? Dancing! That's right! 

Trenton and I like to play Just Dance with his old roommates sometimes. And sometimes Trenton and Clint do the worst dances ever. This is one of them. Another time they did the "In the Summertime" dance which contained a song I'd never heard before. You're probably lucky and haven't heard it either. 

But now you have the opportunity to, should you desire it.



AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!! OH MY GOODNESS. I am so scared and horrified at this man's sideburns that I want to take it down and pretend it never happened. But I feel like maybe you should be scared with me and know what I had to see with my eyes just barely. 

I want to cry. 

This could have a post all it's own.

But now the post is done. 

I miss you all.

I hope you don't stop reading my blog forever because that man's sideburns are the scariest thing on anyone's face.

June 24, 2014

I'm Not a Robot. Really. Also pictures.

Once I wanted to write a comment on my friends blog. She was far away in Fiji and I wanted to say some words in response to her blog. Not an especially strange event. And then I was told, before I could post it, Please prove you're not a robot. Me? Me please prove I'm not a robot? How about you. How about you prove that?

OH WAIT!!

YOU ARE A ROBOT BECAUSE YOU ARE THE COMPUTER!!

At least more robot than me.

So that's weird.

How many robots actually try to post comments on personal blog posts? Is there a job somewhere that a person designs robots who are programmed to comment on random people's blog posts, and now that person is thwarted because their robots cannot prove, indeed, that they are not robots.

This is just something I don't understand.

Also the wiggle song by Jason Derulo. What. The. Possum Jason Derulo?! Where were you that you thought this song was okay?!

I first heard the melodic strains of the Wiggle song in the car with my brothers and at the time fiance and we weren't really paying attention to it when the words, "Whatcha gonna do with that big fat butt? Wiggle wiggle wiggle." sounded.

And we changed the station.

And I thought to myself, it cannot be that anyone actually likes this song. But apparently it is popular because it keeps popping up more and more.

Which leads me to another thought on this same topic - what kind of woman subjects herself to being the subject of such a song. There's a music video for this song. What kind of woman dances in such a video?

YOU ARE BEING COMPLETELY OBJECTIFIED BY THE SIZE OF YOUR BOOTY, HON!

People with a beef about feminism should start here. I agree that women should not be shoved under the radar, trampled upon, or treated as less than men. But could we start here? Could we begin with the popular music that says we should shake it like a polaroid picture to please a man who doesn't otherwise know us?

Sorry to take that in an actually serious direction in what has mostly been a nonsense post. But really. At least Beyonce - who, let's be real, shakes it a fair amount - takes some steps to empower women. She sings about Pretty hurting and how we should be treated as people not just "pretty objects". Not trying to make a huge overwraught statement with that.

Switching gears though, so I can post some of the pictures from the wedding.

I don't have all the official pictures yet, but in a recent post I made reference to my toast (given by Kevin, who for his credit, as of Sunday had never even heard the Wiggle song so way to rock) and here is me with the toast:

This was taken at the wedding luncheon, as well as this awfully fierce piece featuring me and best lad Sean.

For anyone wondering, yes, he is wearing the centerpiece from the table, and I'm not wearing my shoes because those stinkers gave me blisters.

Before we throw the wedding shoes under the proverbial bus, it should be acknowledged that I super procrastinated on trying to break them in. It wasn't until the Tuesday before the wedding that I finally realized if I didn't get on that right then, then those shoes were going to be utter misery. So I put them on while I watched "What to Expect While You're Expecting" on Netflix with Reilly. Naturally I did this while also wearing wool socks and used a blow dryer to loosen them as well. 

So as it was they were only slight misery instead of utter misery. But misery nonetheless.

The last picture I will post for today's post is from my daddy daughter dance. My dad is the best dad of all dads. You can feel free to disagree but not to the point of saying anything to me about it because he's MY best dad.



June 16, 2014

Goals

Sometimes I like to make goals.

Goals like write 500 words (AT LEAST) on your novel Monday-Friday until that stinker of a first draft is DONE.

Goals like this I have to post on facebook or else I won't actually do it. (See 30 day writing challenge, failed attempt 1 and massively failed attempt 2).

Other goals are things like never still be in your pajama pants when your husband gets home from work at 4:00.

This one can be difficult, admittedly, but even if that means I put my real pants on at 3:50 (I'm not saying it happened, but I'm not saying it didn't), then I'm still the winner here.

And yes, obviously this goal will have exceptions if I become ill.

But illness doesn't excuse me from writing, even if it makes my characters crazy. Which it assuredly will.

Then there's the token goal named exercise. I'm really good at this when, you know, I'm in hours and hours of dance class every week that I'm graded on so I go. But it's a little harder during the summer. But it's a goal nonetheless.

And if sometimes walking to the mailbox with a thick handful of thank you notes to send out counts as exercise? Fine. I'll get that gym membership eventually.

There's also the goal named make the bed everyday. We bought the bedspread at Target with our gift card money so we could have a real looking bedroom and I could do the responsible adult/wife thing and make the bed.

I had to add the "/wife" there, because certainly as an "adult" (meaning 18+) I haven't been too bothered to make my bed the past few years.

But it's been made, oh boy has it been made, since I've gotten married. Something about Trenton being gone at work and me just being home and reading makes me feel like the least I can do is make the bed, since I've been sleeping for two hours after he left for work.

Goals are good. They help us measure our progress, and so they have to be good. I bet you have goals. I bet you're really good at keeping your goals.

And if you're not? That's chill. You can do better, or not, or make new goals, or realize some goals are stupid silly and throw them away. Those are the lofty goals like "I'm going to run a marathon this year" and then realize that you hate running and never run. So maybe you should amend the goal, and start off with "run once a week". And that's still something to be proud of.

What's the conclusion of this post? The takeaway message? The excuse I will make to leave/the food I'm going to go eat? I guess there really isn't one (even though I do still have some wedding cake in the fridge and it is delicious). Just that here are some of my goals, and hopefully I will do well and will go on to make and achieve bigger goals.

I can do it. Eventually. :)

Post Marriage Ramblings

It's been a whole two weeks of marriage now, plus a couple days. We made it past that critical mark, and I'm happy to report we're still pretty fond of each other. :)

I will post some pictures and memories from the various fun things on the honeymoon soon (probably) but for now I just kind of need a little rambling.

You see, Trenton, wonderful man that he is, goes off to work everyday so that we can still afford to live in this lovely little apartment (which the longer we live in the more I add to my mental list of things to look for next time we go apartment hunting. For example, there is a big difference between space, counter space, and storage space. And also, how many bugs will be making their way in to visit by crawling under the not very tight to the ground front door.) and so we can eat (we are both EXTREMELY fond of eating). On the eating note, we made an extremely scrumptious meal last Thursday named Italian skillet and summery spinach salad. We took a picture, but unfortunately it's on Trenton's phone so it will just have to wait. Because Trenton takes the car to work (he often leaves at inappropriate hours like 7), I am left at home by myself all day.

I've read many books in the last week. It's kind of nice to be able to sleep in and then read in bed for a bit. But there's also a lot of washing dishes and scrubbing the walls and tidying up the blanket that covers our kind of ugly patterned but free and comfortable couch and, oh yes, writing and addressing thank you notes.

That's been the project of this morning, and the only reason I stopped was because I ran out of stamps, so I will continue tomorrow once more stamps have been obtained.

I'm trying to enjoy this time to myself. I've actually started working on my novel again (!!!!), and like I said I've gotten lots of reading in, plus doing lots of just helpful wife type things. I know that soon enough I will be off working and will be in school again and won't have time to just read for the fun of it. And even later on I will have kids and while I am excited beyond belief for that stage in life, I know it will be busy and nothing like the peaceful mornings I've been experiencing lately. So, while I'm grateful, I do miss having my husband home to talk to, or having friends here all the time.

I guess it just goes to show, that no matter what point in life we are at there's always something to appreciate. :) There we go, somewhat poetic or cliched closing thought so this can be wrapped up and I can finish off my leftover Chicken Alfredo.

(Have you noticed that I often end these posts so I can eat? Not a bad trend.)

June 10, 2014

MARRIAGE!!!

Sometimes when I have SOOOO much to blog about it is really tempting to not blog at all. I think that I can't possibly do justice to all the events that I've missed writing about so far, so I might as well not even start.
Well that attitude is LAZY AND FALSE so we are going to kick it straight to the curb and dump it in the dumpster out back with the oodles of appliance packaging and gift wrap that resulted from Trenton and I opening wedding presents Monday (and by the way, thank you all. It is kind of beautiful that anytime I look at anything in the apartment I am reminded of the generosity, kindness, and love of someone else for Trenton and I. The world is a beautiful place, even if there are a few problems here.)
So here's my attempt to at least begin talking about the wedding day. I will do another post later, hopefully, about the honeymoon, because I can't squish all that happy goodness into one blog post.

Zoooooom. We just rewinded back in time to Saturday, May 31.
I woke up! YAY IT IS MY WEDDING DAY! I said in my head. And then I got up.

My friend Mallory who I danced with forever did my hair for the wedding, and she was a saint. She did a practice run earlier this month, as well as doing my hair for my bridals, and then met me at the salon early to do it for the wedding. Super champ. After my hair was done, we headed up to the temple. Being there was surreal, but so so happy. Sitting with Trenton before the sealing was great, but we were both a little eager - for a minute we thought they'd forgotten us, but we were just super on top of things and were there early.

Matt and Elaine, uncle and aunt extraordinaire, took notice of the exact time of our sealing for me, so I can happily report that we were married, legally and for forever, at 11:28 am on May 31, 2014.

Lots of our wedding pictures are still coming but I will post some that we already have here.



The three pictures together on top are the samples from our photographer, Rachel Johnson, who AGAIN was simply fantastic, and Trenton's sweet granny took the one below. 

Some highlights from the rest of the day were:
- Kevin's toast at the luncheon. 
  • He put an actual piece of toast in the toaster which is something I told my mom I wanted at my wedding a while back and she was like "please no" and then I told Kevin and he was like, "Oh, yes". My brothers were a little miffed that Kevin did it because I'd told them I wanted that done BUT I love them so so much and don't want them to be sad but am still glad Kevin actually did the toast.
  • When Kevin said, "Today I got to see my best friend marry his best friend" it hit me right in the feels and was beautiful.
-  Beyonce dance at the reception
  • So Katie (MoH) and I were watching Beyonce videos in our apartment one day the week before the wedding and we watched the Love on Top video. We had the idea that we should learn the dance. We progressed the idea, saying we should do it at the wedding reception.
  • This actually happened.
  • Because I was at my awesome younger brother's graduation at 4 on Friday when the bridesmaids had decided to rehearse our number, I didn't actually learn the bulk of the choreography, so during the middle of the dance I made Trenton come up and dance.
  • He was the best.
- Smashing the cake
  • A while back Trenton and I had a conversation about not smashing the cake on each other.
  • False. He put a little frosting on my nose. I may or may not have gotten cake all up on his forehead. 
  • Also that cake was gorgeous and really really delicious.
  • And that being said....I'm off for now. Time to eat some cake that's in my fridge. :)



May 22, 2014

Spactastic Shenanigans

I acknowledge my absence from this blog and I apologize. Lots of dancing has been happening. Holy cow, lots of dancing. The first day, and even the first week I guess, every little mistake in a show seemed like a huge thing. Now it's just getting through each show that matters - I am exhausted. But so so happy. :) I just wanted to document a few of the little memories...


The night before SPAC started (yes folks, we are kicking it back to April!) Trenton and Thomas (pictured above) met with the unfortunate news that they were supposed to wear khaki pants the next day for our first day of tour. And neither of them had khaki pants. Dismayed and disgruntled we (with the addition of Sean who DID have khaki pants, and indeed had strong opinions about the flatness of the front of said pants versus pleats) set off for the magical and infrequently (by me) visited land of Walmart. Pants were purchased. But while the boys were in dressing rooms I requested that the not in dressing room boys put on some hats. This is the result when they all put on the hats together. Thomas is incredibly fabulous and rocking a Carmen Sandiego vibe in this photo, Sean is grumpy, and Trenton...that sweet thing looks a mite dysfunctional.


On the same trip I decided I needed to buy a towel because I didn't have one and there was much talk of hot tubbing. In the selection there was this Batman thing, and because I love Batman they insisted I try it on. However, it was attached to the cardboard thing, so Thomas held it up while I wrapped it around me.


A completely different day, we were at a school that had two water spiggots on the water fountain. Katie and I thought it would be beautiful to take a picture together. You can't really see us well but that's us drinking some waters in the water fountain, simultaneously. Yay!!

Unfortunately, all my other pictures aren't on the computer yet, so another post will have to follow up soon with other pictures. However, luckily, facebook has a few photos that I will share here just so I actually remember to write about some of these things. :)

For example, there was the time that before a show all the girls decided to get inside our costume bags. This says something about the amount of costume-age we carry around everyday, because things get full. This was pretty hyper, and reminds me of another day when we all took a picture with our heads sticking out from under the curtains. So many beautiful times. Sometimes I think we act a lot less mature than the elementary kids whose schools we're visiting...

Facebook is now choosing to be a nargle so I'm not going to post anymore right now, but I will update again this weekend! 

May 7, 2014

Banana Bread

Monday night my dear roommate Katie realized that she had a bit of a problem. It was called, uh oh! Brown bananas! Incidentally, I myself was undergoing that very same exact struggle.

A problem was determined, a solution was reached: It were time to make some serious banana bread up in there.

I mean it. We tripled the recipe. There were a lot of brown bananas hanging around our kitchen. Lurking about, threatening to turn all the way black and mushy and utterly disgust us all. Alas and alack.

Even though the bananas at hand were being foiled, the eggs we used were very happy to assist us in our war against rotting fruit and our quest for delicious bread products. 

 Here are the corpses and mashed up bodies of our villainous foes. Quite a beautiful picture, I know.
And finally, if you did not believe for some silly reason that we were actually making a lot of banana  bread..Newsflash. We were making. A lot. Of banana bread. We had a banana bread cake, a normal banana bread loaf, two cute lil loaves, and 12 banana bread muffins. Our apartment smelled like banana heaven.

An additional thought on the banana bread is thus: Why are there no black squiggles when you mash the bananas and make the batter (see above. No black squiggles.) but when you pull the bread out of the oven there are little squiggle fibers throughout? 

I decided to do a little research to answer this question. Here's what I found.
1. Some nasty minded person decided to say they are little worms that infest the bread. You, madam, are on dangerous ground. (Sean, if you're reading this then go ahead and read that in Prince Henry's voice, because oh how the Ever After quotes delight me.) Don't be alarmed friends and family they aren't worms.
2. Apparently you don't get those fibers if you puree the bananas. So they're definitely from the bananas. But I knew that. Why don't they come when you puree them but do when you mash them? Still unsure.
3. Finally, an explanation of sorts that sounds scientific enough that I, at this time, am perfectly willing to accept it unless one of you would like to challenge. Answer: The alkaline environment of a batter with baking soda (which yes, the banana bread had. A tablespoon of it.) results in discoloration of the pulp fibers.

Pulp fibers, people. If that's not a pretty phrase, well then I just don't know.

Side note: Monday, the banana bread adventure day was also Cinco de Mayo!!

Happy Cinco de Mayo from Trenton and me and our yummy yummy tacos. These little loves are $1.25 my friends, and they are t to the a to the s-t-e-y. Yummiest little tacos for sure. So don't be afraid of taco shops that you enter and your immediate reaction is "man, this be sketch" because they might just have the most delicious tacos you ever put in your mouth. Just saying.

May 2, 2014

Beautiful for Being Broken

So on Facebook, one of my friends had posted this picture and it really got me thinking about some things and so I wanted to write a quick blog post, mostly just to record the feelings I was having more than anything else.

Because, to be honest, this is basically my journal. It just keeps me from whining as much as I would in a private journal, which I would really prefer my posterity reading. I have no problem with my great grandchildren knowing how weird I was, but some of the drama that inevitably goes into journals just doesn't need to be recorded, because awkward.

That aside, I think this idea that you can take something broken and show it was broken while adding to its beauty is amazing. It's a very optimistic approach to life. I was talking to Trenton last night and I suddenly got all emotional because we were talking about how sometimes I just care too much about trying to make other people happy and to show them I care about them. Why I got emotional was because I suddenly realized part of why I am that way. It's because I know what it felt like to have no friends. I know how it feels when someone says they hate you which is why I can't stand when other people say it, even if it's clear they're just being sarcastic or are joking.

All this happened a long time ago, and I am perfectly happy now. I know I have an incredibly supportive family, wonderful friends, and a fiance who is completely wonderful to me (and who I am marrying in 29 days!!) While some of the people involved in the problems I had before are now wonderful friends, who I dearly love, I guess last night I had a realization of how much that experience affected me. And while I wouldn't wish that on myself ever again, I truly think it made me better.

I am not going to say it made me "more beautiful" but it made me kinder. It made me care a lot more about the people around me, and I think that's definitely a benefit. I guess that's what is so comforting about the eternal perspective. Trials here and now stink. Times can be so hard and I know I've had moments where I have honestly felt like I just could not take what was happening, that there wasn't a way that my body could hold so much hurt.

However, through time and the love of others those broken pieces of us can be put back together, and that love sticks to us and helps us become stronger, better people.

Teamwork and the Weekend

It has been a few days now since I have last posted - I apologize for the delay. Turns out that after dancing several shows a day (and let's be real - the traveling, setting up, changing costumes approximately a thousand times and so forth) is truly exhausting. And then we get home and people want to be social. Ain't no party like a folk dance party. Cause we are real loud and weird, and you can take that to the bank. There isn't anything they could do with that at the bank and they'd probably find it real irrelevant, but you do you.

But in all the craziness of the past week, I just am so grateful for the opportunity I have to dance and perform, and also spend so much time with my friends. I wish I could shout out to everyone who I appreciate and who has been so great the past few days but I really can't, there's just too many. But Taylor drove for me, and Rylan made me laugh by commentating by 2048 game, and Jessa helped me with my Scottish costume, and Trenton made me a sandwich and let me lean on him while I slept. Reilly did my hair for me and Julianna braided my hair even in the van yesterday.

Something wonderful is how much we pull together as a team. In all the craziness, we help each other. Mary Beth packed up by bag for me today when I needed to rush elsewhere (that's all the detail you need). She had her own bag to pack, but she still wanted to help me. The selflessness that I've seen as a result of spending so much time together has been incredible. Even though I'm sure we get on each others nerves - and yeah, people are really confused about my frequent mentions of possums - everyone is helping everyone else.

We aren't only a team, but we are amazing friends, and as I've felt so much gratitude for all the ways people have helped me and have gone to the effort to help others we feel more and more like a kind of family, which is neat.

But this is getting all mushy and sentimental and I don't want anyone to think I'm being cliche or purposefully sugarcoating things.

So I'll stop saying how much I love everybody, for at least a minute.

We've made it to the weekend and I am ecstatic. It's only been four days - see day 4 picture below - but we've had ten shows and it feels like it's been more than a week.

This is basically the most flattering picture of me there is. This was my attempt at "fierceness" which is just pretty hysterical because it isn't working. Gotta love it. Also, Heidy makes this photo (she's the one sitting on the ground and photobombing us). 

It is now 5 on Friday night and I am waiting for Trenton to get home from work to start the fun weekend plans. I have no actual concrete plans yet, but I'm excited. With all the folk dancers around and all the wedding plans it's pretty sure to be an adventure.


April 29, 2014

Day 1: Adventures


Once upon a time on April 29th of the year 2014, a wonderful adventure called SPAC tour began. It began early. Very early and pearly. More early though, and less pearly, if we are talking about percentages. We were supposed to meet at the vans at 6:30 to head over to the costume wearhouse and then be on our way to the first of three shows.

I must admit that I was probably most hyper from 7-8ish. Once we started actually dancing I just got more and more tired as the day wore on, but the shows continued to get better, so all was well - even if that meant there were very few possum related comments on the way home. To be honest, this was largely due to 2048, yet another game (the first being Candy Crush) that I told myself I didn't need to play and wouldn't play. But then Trenton got it on his phone and I started playing it on his phone and then decided I should just get it on my own so it didn't bug him. And thus is the story of why I was playing that game. For any interested, no I have not achieved the 2048 tile, but I have gotten the 1024 a few times. Woot woot.

Other than a few minor mishaps and not having the right music for Spanish which resulted in the classic favorite DANCING WITH NO MUSIC YEEHAW the day really went rather smoothly. Sure, I had some mistakes especially in the first show, but I think all in all we performed well and covered up the problems.

It was vurr fun and I'm excited to do it again. Tomorrow. And then the next day. And all the days. Until it's done, at which point I will inevitably be a little sad, but mostly excited to get married. There's only 32 more days, people. How I am handling it, I do not know.

My friend named Rylan made a comment to me today. He said that my blog just sounds like my normal talking voice and also that I should make a vlog. This is a compelling option, especially since this computer is equipped with a built in camera which means no pesky additional webcam.

The problem with this choice is that then I have to look presentable while I vlog which sometimes just isn't the thing. I'm the kind of person who is very much of the opinion that changing clothes is dumb. I just spent all day changing costumes, granted, but I have a higher tolerance when it is just for dancing. I real love dancing. Otherwise I just will put on real clothes once and then basically just want to put on pajamas after that. Even at 4:30. Or earlier.

But I digress.

So far do I digress that I now leave you, with the promise of an at least somewhat speedy return.

P.s. Photo cred to the beautiful, wonderful and talented Katie Farrenkopf who indeed took the picture of us in the van.

April 28, 2014

Rain

Some people really love the rain. Like really really love it. I have a friend on her mission whose favorite thing in the whole world practically is the rain.

I am not one of these people.

The "Rain rain go away, come again some other day" song might as well be translated into Breanna-eese as "Rain rain go away. Rain at night if you have to. But seriously. Go away."

There are a few problems with rain, the principal of which is that it brings the worms out onto the sidewalks. Nasty pie.

Sometimes people make fun of my fear of worms. But they're nasty. And my brothers used to tease me about them crawling into the various face holes we all have (mouth, nose, ears, even through the eye sockets) and either just being in you or possessing your brain. All manner of grossness.

Yes, I am perfectly aware that this does not actually happen, but worms are still the things of nightmares.


I am sorry I even put this on my blog because it ruins whatever beauty the whole thing may have possessed, but this is a worm mouth and just no. No. No no no.

In addition, rain often leads to my number one pet peeve, which is the hem of my jeans getting soggy. It feels like gross and blech all the rest of the day long. That is way sometimes I wear shorts and flip flops in the rain, because water soaking through your shoes and having sloshy socks is almost as disgusting as the bottom of the jean legs being soaked. 

Sometimes my solution to this unfortunate situation is that I pull my pants up but pulling up on the material on the thighs. People sometimes laugh at this, but I would much rather be mocked than have wet pants. Just saying.

This is all coming up because I spent the last two days cooped up inside largely due to rain. My outrage on this topic has faded slightly because it snowed this morning, and that's just not right, but the rain was very irritating. 

However, it's all about having an attitude of gratitude! So. What things happened while I spent time inside while it rained?
1. I did workout videos with my roommates (which made us all rather sore the next day, but all the best workouts do)
2. I watched "Chuck" the tv show with my fiance, and he admitted that the girl in it was attractive and I only bugged him about it afterward once. And by "watched" the show I mean we watched two episodes, not like a whole season.
3. I watched a shark documentary and it made me cry. I will need to write a whole post on sharks later, but basically let's start here: DO NOT EVEN EVER EAT SHARK FIN SOUP. DO YOU KNOW THAT THEY CUT ALL THE FINS OFF OF THE SHARKS WHILE THEY ARE STILL ALIVE EVEN AND THEN JUST THROW THE BODIES BACK IN THE OCEAN - THAT IS 90% OF THE SHARK AND IT JUST SINKS CAUSE IT CANNOT SWIM ANYMORE??
It's beyond inappropriate and it breaks my heart.

Look at this cute shark who just wants to swim and not have it's fins cut off. 
4. Played video games with a bunch of guys and lost a whole bunch - I did win Mario Kart a couple of times but I was not on top of my game. 
5. Watched Saratov Approach and cried some more.

Do you see this theme about all the watching things? It's great but just too much. It's nice to get out and have some variety.

I did do other things than those five but not that I'm going to divulge right now. You shall just be left to wonder. 

April 26, 2014

Happy Birthday to Ryan!

My baby brother is turning 18 today, which is absolutely crazy! He has his mission call and is leaving for Tahiti (well I guess technically the MTC first and then Tahiti) in June.

Basically Ryan is the greatest. I love all my brothers so much, and Ryan and I have had some fun times together as the two younger siblings. Sure, we fought all the time when we were younger - especially when I was in ninth grade and he was in seventh - but he always knew how to make me laugh so I would have to forgive him.

By the time I was a senior in High School and he was the tallest Sophomore ever, we were pretty much the very best of friends. And so here are the pictures of the beautiful times we spent together (not all the times - just a few of the times and still probably more pictures of the times than he wants but alas and alack there is no going back.) (That was a poem.)

 This is in Hawaii! Ryan doesn't look like he loves me so much but secretly he does.
 This is boating at Deer Creek Reservoir. Because family times are best times. Of all times.
 Once upon a time last summer our family went to Park City and we went ATV-ing. Ryan and I were buddies that whole trip - mostly driving around in the little car in the rain. Ryan did a stellar job of actually driving the ATV down the road while I fell asleep which was probably not the safest experience ever but it worked. Also he trusted me to drive him on this beast even though the rocky area in the rain was really quite horrifying. So, Friendship.
 This is the story of when once upon a time Ryan and I went to a football game and Ryan even called me his favorite sister right in public on facebook. Only sister aside, I'm glad to be favorite.


 Once it was Halloween my senior year, and instead of going to any Halloween parties or hanging out with friends I had a photo shoot with Ryan who was technically being Michael Jackson in Thriller but didn't wear his afro wig and so kind of destroyed the illusion. But I got him to do this leg kick with me and so that proves that our love for one another is deep and our friendship the greatest of all.
Once upon a time I had moved out of the house and was going to college but I went to my dad's work party at Trafalga. Then I posed like I was scared in the mini golf cave and I didn't even know Ryan was being beastly behind me. Even after I left and went far away (you know, to Provo) we were still all the great friends and I liked to leave my little dorm and hang out with him.
 Finally, I just wanted to say that Ryan is the greatest. He might say punky things like "stop whining" and call me "child" and "fou-foo" more than he calls me Breanna, but he is just the nicest, most fun little brother I could ever even want to have. And so I will conclude this post with that thought very firmly established. HAPPY BIRTHDAY RYAN. YOU ARE REAL NICE AND SUPER AWESOME. Love, Breanna.

Let the Good Times Roll!

Yesterday was slightly stressful. It began with moving everything out of my old apartment, and around 5 pm turned into moving everything into my new apartment, which has significantly less bedroom space.

There is a messed up, skinny as anything secret passageway "closet" that I can hardly get into, a creepy-tastic basement third bedroom that luckily no one needs to use and is now the storage room and also tourist destination for creepiest random basement apartment, and a weird secret storage space in the wall.

There are also some of my best friends in the whole wide world in this apartment and there was a pretty fun movie night here last night.

Also the beds are 1 million times for comfortable than the beds at the Elms. Honestly, a whole post could be dedicated to the fake mattress monstrosities I've been sleeping on for the past eight months. I don't think there was a soft thing in that mattress. Just pain and angst lived in there. Unpleasant stuff. This bed has a real mattress and actually is not five feet off the ground which is kind of a fun twist.

So despite the stress of moving and realizing it is a good thing I'm only living here for a month because all my stuff would never fit here, I am pretty happy and pretty excited.

Everyone on SPAC (my folk dance team which will be starting our elementary school tour this Tuesday) except for two beautiful girls who have husbands and therefore understandably didn't want to move from them has moved into University Villa for the month of tour.

Being all so close together, especially living in the same apartment complex as Trenton, is very nice.

Also I am roommates with the fantastic Katie, who is also my maid of honor, and who I appreciate so dearly in my life. The sweet and wonderful Whitney and Reilly are our other "flat mates" and I just am so excited for all the partying times that will be happening all up in here!

WOOHOO!!

April 24, 2014

Salted Caramel and an Inadvertent Review of Red Robin

Can we just have a brief discussion on salted caramel?

I don't know if salted caramel used to be a thing, went away, and is back, or if people are just suddenly obsessed with it because. I mean, I know it's been around, but in the past year or so poor caramel is made to feel like it can't exist without salt. Every other pinterest recipe is for salted caramel cookies or brownies or who knows what all.

Now I will be the first to admit that there are certain situations in which salted caramel is completely delicious.

Most often that situation is when there are pretzels involved. For example, my roommates once made me brownies with pretzels in them that were drenched in caramel once they came out of the oven. Delicious. Also, once my friend Lauren and I decided we needed ice cream at midnight so we went to Macey's and got a salted caramel pretzel ice cream and ate it out of the container with spoons on my couch. No regrets.

But sometimes it just goes too far.

Last week, I was having a craving for Red Robin, so my sweetie took me there for dinner. Some of the burgers looked good, but being my typical self I decided that chicken really sounded delicious so I opted for the ridiculously named "clucks and fries". Then Trenton said I could even also have a milkshake if I wanted. Wow! What a guy!

Well, ever since going to a Josh Groban concert with Sarah and stopping by Wendy's afterwards where I, for the first time, experienced the pleasure of the caramel frosty shake, I very much have come to love caramel shakes.

These are the faces of people who tried frosty shakes for the firs time. And also who got their upper bowl Josh Groban concert seating switched by Joshy himself to floor seating. Row 8, baby. But that's another story. But that is the real story behind those excited faces.

Tangent aside, my love for caramel prompted me into the choice of a salted caramel milkshake.

FOLKS. 

BAD CHOICE.

PLEASE, NO MATTER HOW DELICIOUS IT SOUNDS, FOR THE LOVE OF YOUR TASTEBUDS DO NOT DO IT.

I am 100% serious when I say that it was a salt and caramel milkshake, not salted caramel. They used Hawaiian sea salt and the shake was gritty and tasted like salt and not like caramel. And it made me really sad. Trenton offered to trade me for his mint brownie shake which was actually delicious the way all milkshakes should be, but I just couldn't do that to him.

Because I wouldn't wish that salt milkshake on anybody. Except a slug, which it would kill, because I don't believe in the preservation of slug life. 

The shake was about as salty as my fries, which I added the yummy Red Robin salty season-y stuff too. I also put that seasoning on my chicken because them clucks were bland. 

All in all it was a rough experience and one that has kind of ruined the idea of salted caramel for me.

Unless there are pretzels involved.