April 28, 2014

Rain

Some people really love the rain. Like really really love it. I have a friend on her mission whose favorite thing in the whole world practically is the rain.

I am not one of these people.

The "Rain rain go away, come again some other day" song might as well be translated into Breanna-eese as "Rain rain go away. Rain at night if you have to. But seriously. Go away."

There are a few problems with rain, the principal of which is that it brings the worms out onto the sidewalks. Nasty pie.

Sometimes people make fun of my fear of worms. But they're nasty. And my brothers used to tease me about them crawling into the various face holes we all have (mouth, nose, ears, even through the eye sockets) and either just being in you or possessing your brain. All manner of grossness.

Yes, I am perfectly aware that this does not actually happen, but worms are still the things of nightmares.


I am sorry I even put this on my blog because it ruins whatever beauty the whole thing may have possessed, but this is a worm mouth and just no. No. No no no.

In addition, rain often leads to my number one pet peeve, which is the hem of my jeans getting soggy. It feels like gross and blech all the rest of the day long. That is way sometimes I wear shorts and flip flops in the rain, because water soaking through your shoes and having sloshy socks is almost as disgusting as the bottom of the jean legs being soaked. 

Sometimes my solution to this unfortunate situation is that I pull my pants up but pulling up on the material on the thighs. People sometimes laugh at this, but I would much rather be mocked than have wet pants. Just saying.

This is all coming up because I spent the last two days cooped up inside largely due to rain. My outrage on this topic has faded slightly because it snowed this morning, and that's just not right, but the rain was very irritating. 

However, it's all about having an attitude of gratitude! So. What things happened while I spent time inside while it rained?
1. I did workout videos with my roommates (which made us all rather sore the next day, but all the best workouts do)
2. I watched "Chuck" the tv show with my fiance, and he admitted that the girl in it was attractive and I only bugged him about it afterward once. And by "watched" the show I mean we watched two episodes, not like a whole season.
3. I watched a shark documentary and it made me cry. I will need to write a whole post on sharks later, but basically let's start here: DO NOT EVEN EVER EAT SHARK FIN SOUP. DO YOU KNOW THAT THEY CUT ALL THE FINS OFF OF THE SHARKS WHILE THEY ARE STILL ALIVE EVEN AND THEN JUST THROW THE BODIES BACK IN THE OCEAN - THAT IS 90% OF THE SHARK AND IT JUST SINKS CAUSE IT CANNOT SWIM ANYMORE??
It's beyond inappropriate and it breaks my heart.

Look at this cute shark who just wants to swim and not have it's fins cut off. 
4. Played video games with a bunch of guys and lost a whole bunch - I did win Mario Kart a couple of times but I was not on top of my game. 
5. Watched Saratov Approach and cried some more.

Do you see this theme about all the watching things? It's great but just too much. It's nice to get out and have some variety.

I did do other things than those five but not that I'm going to divulge right now. You shall just be left to wonder. 

No comments:

Post a Comment